Mistakes and all…

Make a mistake. Mistakes don’t happen intentionally; those are called failures. Mistakes happen by doing your best, by trying until you mess up. Those are not called failures. Make mistakes because grace means that you can try.

Try boldly; take courage! Do something without the worry that you may fail. You won’t fail if you try. You will only fail if you don’t try – if you sabotage yourself.

Look at the parable of the talents: the only one who failed was the one who didn’t try. Everyone who tried multiplied. Mistakes and all – they teach us about mercy, and each time we get up we learn about grace.

Is the fear of making a mistake stopping you from doing something? Has it ever? Did you overcome it? Have you got a story yet or do you still need to make one? Do tell.

bleu_phtalo

Phthalocyanine is a super lovely molecule discovered by mistake about 100 years ago.


67 responses to “Mistakes and all…

  • Mikaela

    Yes, mistakes have stopped me from doing something. I was afraid to try anything new. I liked to stick to the things I was used to doing. One day, I was given a chance to do gymnastics because the coach told me to and they had a last spot for applications. I didn’t join it and later on in life, I wished that I at least tried.

    Like

  • Stephen Chin

    Every time I want to try to learn a new skill I’m initially reluctant. Theres a lot of dedication in time and resources that would go into learning something that I might ultimately fail at. Just the thought of being bad at something I put tens of hours into makes me not want to do it. However, as I’ve continued to learn it almost never seems that I’ve hit a roadblock that I can’t recover from. Small difficulties shouldn’t be worried about as failure goes in hand with learning and should be taken as a lesson rather than an end.

    Like

  • Hannah the Writer

    I feel like every artist has to start with this fear at the very beginning. That is until you make a couple of splashes of paint their, do some pencil markings here, fade out that bit of accidental made paint over their, and you end up with something you didn’t expect to have.
    I started off as a fresh artist right out of writing cheezy romance and detective stories and I was faced with an A3 sized drawing pad, a sketching pencil, and a couple of watercolor pencils my brother had given to me.
    I was frightened beyond reason of making a fool of myself in front of my older brother who was a talent at drawing all manner of anime cartoons and real-life people.
    However, he was the one to encourage me to try and in the end, I did have some slip up’s, I did have to try again, but I made a beautiful anime cartoon of myself and still keep it as a reminder of not being afraid to try and even if you do try it’s not a guarantee you’ll do well at it, but it really does teach us a lesson on dusting ourselves off, getting back up and trying again. 🙂

    “Say to them, ‘This is what the LORD says: “‘When people fall down, do they not get up? When someone turns away, do they not return?”
    (Jerimiah 8:4 NIV)

    Like

  • Cyrus Lee

    Q: Is the fear of making a mistake stopping you from doing something? Has it ever? Did you overcome it? Have you got a story yet or do you still need to make one? Do tell.

    A: Many a time, I have stopped myself from taking risks because of the fear of failure. I, from my upbringing, have been told to not take risks unless success is guaranteed. This has made me very cautious about taking risky actions, and have held myself back on many an occasion. I have not really overcome my fear of failure yet, and I am still to this day very cautious when making risky decisions. However, I do place my trust and faith in God to protect me, and may choose decisions that I wouldn’t make usually.

    Like

  • Katja Palaruan

    I am not afraid to make mistakes, it does not stop me from creating. I don’t mind looking bad or making something that looks bad. I believe that it is more unflattering and shameful to show that you did not do anything or even try. Mistakes are simply taking the wrong choice. It is better that I take the wrong than nothing at all. I cannot lose with mistakes, I only gain and I learn.

    Like

  • Antonella Zanatti

    For me, fear has always been a great obstacle in my life, if it weren’t for God’s reassurance, I think I wouldn’t be the person I am today. When I look back, I think that there has been many times in my life where the fear of making a mistake has stopped me from doing something. In my life right now, I am scared of making a mistake with the decision I make regarding with which college/university I go to. This has stopped me from going to university in August.

    Most commonly, people think that when fear of making a mistake stops you from doing something it is a negative consequence. However, I do not agree with this. I think that sometimes when the fear of making a mistake stops you from doing something, it can actually be a good thing. For example, I am scared of making the wrong choice of where I go to college so now I am taking a gap year. However, I do not think this is necessarily a bad thing that I have to “overcome.” Yes I acknowledge that I will eventually need to choose where I go to but sometimes, fear is a very telling emotion. Going to collage in three months would not be the healthiest choice for me right now. And so the fear of making the mistake for what college I go to is actually a helpful insight. I can feel this fear guide me to making a good choice. And throughout the course of my gap year, I know I will feel more confident. I trust that when I am ready to make the decision of where I go to college, God will tell me. As of now, I accept that I have fear but that is not stopping me from avoiding the decision. The fear is just telling me that it is okay and that it is letting me know that this is where I am regarding the topic. As I work through it, God will take that fear away and I will be ready. I trust God.

    Like

  • Angel Chen

    “Is the fear of making a mistake stopping you from doing something?”
    -I’m really bad at cooking. There’s a day that my parents wasn’t at home and I was really hungry, and I didn’t even want to get down stair for food, but I just didn’t wanna cook either.

    “Did you overcome it?”
    -Yeah…I made noodles. I just put water into the pot, boiled it under it was hot, then put the noodles down, wait until it was soft, and added some salt and sauce. It wasn’t really good but it was not too bad, anyways, it was eatable.😂At least I tried, better than starving.

    The thing is… There are something that for sure I’m not talented in, but at least give it a try, it’s okay to ruin it and waste time because then I would know I am actually not good at it. If the outcome is good, then it is worth a lot!

    Like

  • Simeon

    Fear always stops me, and it will continue to. But along with fear comes the feeling of adrenaline kicking in, and that, I love. Every now and then, when I get bored of conforming and an opportunity comes my way, I seize it. In the moment when fight or flight kicks in, there is no better motivation than fear. As much as it inhibits, I think it also enables. In response to the fear, it could unexpectedly make me do things that I would not have done otherwise, such as making bad decisions. But hey, I think bad decisions only make life more interesting, or at least until I land myself in jail or something along those lines. Anyways, I’ve always been afraid of the stage, I don’t usually seek the limelight, but despite my stage fright, I always find myself back on the stage, acting, playing an instrument or delivering some kind of speech. Always fearful, but somewhat addicted to it. And most of the time, enjoying it.

    Like

  • Cyrus Lee

    Q: Is the fear of making a mistake stopping you from doing something? Has it ever? Did you overcome it? Have you got a story yet or do you still need to make one? Do tell.

    A: Many a time, I have stopped myself from taking risks because of the fear of failure. I, from my upbringing, have been told to not take risks unless success is guaranteed. This has made me very cautious about taking risky actions, and have held myself back on many an occasion. I have not really overcome my fear of failure yet, and I am still to this day very cautious when making risky decisions. However, I do place my trust and faith in God to protect me, and may choose decisions that I wouldn’t make usually. In ceramics today, I took the risk of working further on my clay pot. The pot ended up with many nicks and scratches, but in the end, the pot turned out great.

    Like

  • Ralph Wee

    sometimes fear of making a mistake can stop me. like when I first learnt how to do a backflip, I was scared that I wouldn’t rotate enough and that I may land on my head. I eventually overcame that fear of failing and now I can do one any time I want to.

    Like

  • GyuDon Lee

    Fear of making a mistake stops me from doing something new. Mistakes discourage me to do new things. Not only that, but they also make me feel anxious. Unfortunately, anxiety happens to me a lot while playing sports. Sports require teamwork and cooperation. Whenever I make mistakes, I feel sorry for my teammates. This anxiety leads me to perform even worse. However, I try to overcome those challenges and learn from my mistakes to be a better person. Improvement does not follow without making any mistakes. I realized that no one cannot be successful without learning from their own mistakes.

    Like

  • sam

    Is the fear of making a mistake stopping you from doing something? Has it ever?Did you overcome it? Have you got a story yet or do you still need to make one?
    yes it has and yes i did overcome it. it was when we were doing the deck jumping in telunas. the tide was low soo it looked like a long drop. but finally my freinds helped me overcome it and did it with me.

    Like

  • Julie

    I don’t think to be afraid of making mistakes are what makes me hesitate in making decisions. I agree in that fear frequently prohibits us from sometimes fulfilling our potentials or doing the best we can however if the fear was a fear of making mistakes, I personally don’t think it would or has stopped me from taking risks. I think I have always been used to failure in the sense that there have been many times when I have tried hard and did not achieve what I initially wanted. As a result, fear hasn’t really been much of a problem for me. I haven’t been afraid to do what I want to do, even when it involved me being unsure about the outcomes.

    Like

  • yeji

    I have a habit of not trying from the first place when I know that I will fail. This doesn’t mean I won’t try learning or using new thing not only in arts but in life in general. One of the things I don’t even try is competing with others. I hate going to competitions because I don’t want to be compared to others that I don’t care about and be judged and be told them I am worse than others but I guess sometime you just need to push yourself. Which is bad for mental health but society doesn’t care about that. They want to see how you can overcome all that mental/physical challenges and success & prove yourself better than others. In my opinion, everyone has the right to avoid or not challenge themselves if they want to and we don’t have the right to force them. At least I want to be that friend who supports your decisions. My parents forced me into many things but I don’t want my friends to struggle also? I mean, at the end we are not some belonging of our parents.. we are just who we are:) make your own decisions and make your own life. If you fail, don’t mind. If you don’t wanna try? don’t try. Eventually you’ll do it when you realise you need them…

    Like

  • kurumi

    Is the fear of making a mistake stopping you from doing something? Has it ever?Did you overcome it? Have you got a story yet or do you still need to make one?
    for me, fear of making mistakes are stopping me from doing something and because of that i usually give up on what i wanted to do because im scared. i do regret many times because of that but i always think regret is batter than making mistakes especially infront of people. i also have conflict where i want to do something i like but if i make mistakes i think i would loose the interest in it.

    Like

  • Bryan Tan

    I think that making mistakes is what we humans do everyday because we are not perfect and we tend to make mistakes even if we don’t realize it. Fear is what is will always be in me because as much as I don’t like to fear it is also impossible not to fear. I would say that I have overcame some the fears I have but not all of them. And there are still things that I can overcome.

    Like

Leave a comment